Sunday, January 20, 2013

1-20-13 MCRC Briefs

Jan 20, 2013

·        Inauguration-Live-Stream

·        Statement From Governor Jan Brewer - Honoring The Legacy Of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: “Arizonans and Americans come together Monday to reflect on the life and legacy of one of our country’s most influential leaders and visionaries: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. We remember Dr. King for his commitment to the civil rights of all Americans. As President Reagan once wrote, Dr. King taught ‘with his unflinching determination, his complete confidence in the redeeming power of love, and his utter willingness to suffer, to sacrifice, and to serve.
“Dr. King remains an inspiration. He demonstrated all that can be accomplished with faith, love and determination on behalf of what is right, and he embodied the power of the human heart to affect social change. As Dr. King wrote in 1963 after being jailed for taking part in non-violent, civil rights demonstrations in Birmingham, Alabama – ‘Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.
“This holiday, let us recommit to standing with our neighbors through trying times. Let us carry on Dr. King’s legacy of love and respect by honoring his words and bringing light to those who need it most. Let us honor his Dream by renewing our devotion to his glorious message.”

·        The Arizona Life Coalition For A Pro-Life Rally In Phoenix is scheduled at noon, Jan 22 at the US District Court Bldg, 401 W. Washington.

·        Dara Vanesian Is The Newly Elected Chairman Of The Navajo County Republicans.  Her executive board consists of First Vice Chairman Karen Johnson, Second Vice Chairman Annette Hardman, Secretary Carol Snyder and Treasurer Keith Baldwin.  Contact:  Vanesian

·        Joy Iris Staveley is the newly elected chairman of the Coconino County Republicans. Her executive board consists of First Vice Chairman Van Odegaard, Second Vice Chairman Trudy Wieber, Third Vice Chairman Richard Mihalik, Secretary Troy Campbell and Treasurer Ray Jordan.  Contact Staveley    cell: 928-606-1131.

·        ATTN: AZ GOP County Chairman – Please send a list of your newly elected county officers to Briefs at

·        Maricopa County Republican’s Second Vice Chairman Jose Borrajero will be speaker at the Feb. 13 Arrowhead Republican Women’s (ARW) meeting scheduled at 11:30 am in the Briarwood Country Club, 135th Ave/Meeker Blvd., Sun City West.  Borrajero, who escaped from Communist Cuba at the age of 15, was named the 2012 Grassroots Activist of the Year by the Americans for Prosperity Foundation.  And he is the leader of the Rapid Response Team for Tea Party legislation. No Jeans allowed.  Adults only, no children. $20 for lunc. RSVP/reservations required to or contact Cindy Benson  623-547-2175.

·        Learn The Legacy Of Pres. Calvin Coolidge between 5:30-7 pm, Feb 4 at the Goldwater Institute, 500 E. Coronado Road, Phx. No admission fee. Light refreshments will be served.RSVP by noon Jan. 28 by clicking here.

·        AZGOP Chairman Candidates Web Sites:
Ø  Doug Little
Ø  Robert Graham

·        Editor’s Note: To maintain neutrality, Briefs does not post endorsements for competitive GOP candidates.

·        AZGOP Chairman Candidates Robert Graham and Doug Little will be interviewed separately starting at 4 pm, Jan. 23 on Clair Van Steenwyk’s “Crossroads with Van” radio talk show.  

·        Jan 25 - AZGOP CHAIRMAN’S AWARD DINNER. 6 pm. Check in. 6:30 pm dinner. Mountain Preserve Reception Center, 1431 E Dunlap Avenue, Phx. $50 per person. $90 per couple. Online tickets:  or mail a check to AZ  GOP, 3501 N. 24th Street, Phoenix AZ  85016  Attn:  Lori Contact: 602-957-7770.  Nearby Hotel: Best Western Inn Suites, 1615 E. Northern Ave., Phx. $84 per night/AZGOP Rate code AR10113, space limited, book early to confirm. 602-997-6285

·        Jan 26 - The AZGOP STATUTORY MEETING. Registration opens at 7:30  am. Mtg at 9 am. Church of the Nations, 6225 N. Central Ave., Phx. Food and beverages will be available for breakfast and lunch.  Call letters will be sent out to State Committeemen 10 days prior to the meeting. Contact:  Lori Urban  602-957-7770 AZGOP HQ / 480-221-9633 cell.

·        LD17 will meet Jan 22 at 6:30 pm (social), 7 pm mtg, at Tri-City Baptist, 2211 W Germann Rd.,Chandler (Germann, west of Dobson). Contact: LD17 Chr Tyler Bowoyer,, 480-239-0025.

·        LDs 12, 17, 18, 26, 27 Will Host A Debate Between AZGOP Chairman Candidates Robert Graham and Doug Little at 7:30 pm, Jan 22 at Tri-City Baptist, 2211 W Germann Rd.,Chandler (Germann, west of Dobson). Contact: LD17 Chr Tyler Bowoyer,, 480-239-0025.
·        The Candidates For AZGOP Officers Are:
Chairman: Robert Graham and Doug Little
Treasurer: Timothy Lee
Secretary: Lynne Breyer and Linda white
·        The candidates for Members-at-Large for the AZGOP Executive Committee are listed below. Elections will be held during the Jan 26 AZ GOP Statutory meeting to be held at the Church of the Nations, 6775 N. Central, Phoenix.
ü  CD1 – Bill Bridwell, Timothy Lee, Sylvia Allen, MarkSeidel, DaveKonopnicki, Ashley Pritchard, Steve Kohut, Teresa Martinex and Gary Miller.
ü  CD2 – Willie Stubbs, Del Dawley, Joshua Michael Townsend, Cynthia Coleman, Michael Ebert, and Karen Schutte.
ü  CD3 – Harold Hough, Bob Westerman and Gene Chewing.
ü  CD 4 – Gary Benkendorfer, Patti Lewis, Cary Lockwood, Lee Draper, Stacey Salvaggio, Don Ascoli, Frosty Taylor, Don Crowley, John Fillmore,vThomas Ramsdell and Laramer Mace.
ü  CD5 – Pace Ellsworth, John Laurie, Jim Kresse, Craig Ray, Haydee Dawson, Daniel Grimm, Christopher Ames, Jordan Ray and Jenn Daniels.
ü  CD6 – Joni Leckey, Lori Urban, Laddie Shane, Jim O’Connor, Kathy Petsas and John Strasser.
ü  CD7 – Roy Miller, George Cuprak and Barry Wong.
ü  CD8 – Emily Sabo, Patrick Petrini, Marcus Huey, Dean Pleasant, Lyle Tuttle and TC Bundy.
ü  CD9 – Mark Spinks, Kim Kunasek, Matthew Papke, Shondean Cochise, Douglas Ardt, Raymond Speakman, Jessica Merrow, Kristin Middleton, Denna Ray, Loraine Pellegrino, Bill Baxter, Nancy Edwards, Diane Ortiz-Parsons, Chuck Kirkhuff, A.J. LaFaro, and Margaret Garcia-Dugan.
·        MLK-Day-Events

·        A.J. LaFaro is the newly elected Maricopa County Republican Committee Chairman. Other newly elected officers include First Vice Chairman April Riggins, Second Vice Chairman Jose Borrajero, Secretary Jeni White and Treasurer David Ludwig (re-elected).  The LaFaro “Grassroots Team” beat out Lisa Gray’s team across the board. Total team tallies were LaFaro Team 6,058 (54.96%) to Gray’s Team of 4,964 (45.04%), according to the ballots counted by the County Recorder’s office.  Individually LaFaro received 1,179 votes (53.35%) over Gray’s individual count of 1,030 (46.61%).

·        MCRC LD Chairmen:
LD1    Cathy Schwanke 
LD4    Rhonda King  
LD12   Mickie Niland        
LD13   Dr. Robert Branch
LD15   Dave Henderson
LD16  Jerry E. Clingman
LD17   Tyler Bowyer     
LD18   David Bushman   
LD19   Cherie Scott  
LD20   Ray Malnar         
LD21   Kevin Payne   
LD22   Eric Morgan       
LD23   Doug Little      
LD24   Brian Kaufmann             
LD25   Paul Whetten    
LD26   Raymond Jones
LD27   Terry Rapp    
LD28   Scott O’Connor                www.AZLD28GOP.ORG
LD29   Charlie Ellis   
LD30   Timothy Schwartz     

·        Contact your Arizona legislators 

     Frosty Taylor, Editor
Articles distributed exclusively as newsworthy items. Content has not been endorsed by the Maricopa County Republican Committee.
Paid for by Maricopa County Republican Committee.  Not authorized by any LD candidate of candidate committee.