Monday, January 28, 2013

1-27-13 Briefs

Jan 27, 2013

·        MCRC Chairman AJ Lafaro Has Announced  That The MCRC Lincoln Luncheon is scheduled for Feb. 23. Details to be announced.

·        A Feb 12 Republican Precinct Committeeman’s (PC) Day is planned at the State Capitol.  More details later.

·        Robert Graham won the AZGOP Chairmanship with 1,000 votes or 69.93% of the ballots tallied at yesterday’s state mandatory meeting. 

·        Linda White was re-elected AZGOP secretary.

·        Timothy Lee was elected AZGOP treasurer by acclimation.  Lee has previously served in that position.

·        Newly elected AZGOP Members at Large include:
ü  CD1 –Bill Bridwell, Richard Mihalik, Sylvia Allen.
ü  CD2 – Gail Griffin, Cynthia Coleman, Joshua Michael Townsend.
ü  CD3 – Bob Westerman, Gene Chewning and Harold Hough.
ü  CD4 –Don Ascoli, Laramer  “L.G” Mace, Patti Lewis.
ü  CD5 –Daniel Grimm, Haydee Dawson, Mickie Niland.
ü  CD6 – Jim O’Connor, John Strasser, Laddie Shane.
ü  CD7 – Barry Wong, George Cuprak and Terry Rapp.
ü  CD8 –Emily Sabo, Lyle Tuttle, Marcus Huey.
ü  CD9 –Bill Baxter, Diane Ortiz-Parsons, Nancy Edwards.

·        Winners at the Saturday night AZGOP Chairman’s Awards Banquet
ü  Sen Barry Goldwater Award – Paradise Republican Women
ü  Dodie London Award – Jeni White
ü  Cal Holman “Best Party Worker in the State – Dave & Kathy Doige
ü  Best Republican Organization – Arizona Latino Republican Association
ü  Best Republican Club – PebbleCreek Republican Club
ü  Most Outstanding County – Gila
ü  Most Outstanding County Chair – Diana Arendt, Coconino
ü  Most Outstanding Districts  - LD1 and LD18
ü  Most Outstanding Chairmen – Cathy Schwanke, LD1 and Robert Branch, LD13
ü  Most Outstanding Party Workers in a County – Irene Littleton, Pinal and Keith Alexander, Graham
ü  Most Outstanding Party Worker in a District – Naomi Kruse, LD20, Tauni E. Orton, LD26, and Dwayne Koval, LD9
ü  Rookie of the Year – Jere Fredenburgh

·        Honorable Mentions:
ü  Outstanding Counties – Yavapai and Pinal
ü  Outstanding County Chairs – Stephen Kohut, Pinal; John D. Rhodes, Graham; Don Ascoli, Gila; Jonathan Lines, Yuma
ü  Outstanding LD Chairs – Mickie Niland, LD12; Tom Crosby, LD14; Ray Malnor, LD20; Terry Rapp, LD27
ü  Exceptional Dedication & Service to the GOP – Frosty Taylor, Lori Klein, Stacey Collins, Roger Boone, Karen Brogdon, Michael Veitsman, Brenda Roberts, Gerri Wainwright
ü  Rookies of the Year – Judy Hoelscher, Carl & Judith Anderson, Pat O’Malley, Ken Hand, Edith Stock, Richard Peterson
ü  Best GOP Clubs – Fountain Hills, Maricopa, Republican Women of Prescott; Rim County, SaddleBrooke, SanTan  and Thunder Mountain Republican Women
ü  Best Republican Organization – Southern Arizona Hispanic Republicans.

·        Briefs Hopes To Have A Complete List Of The Lifetime Achievement awards, Lincoln/Reagan Awards, and Chairman’s Heroes within a few days.

·        The AZGOP Headquarters staff presented Kris Morrissey, wife of outgoing Chairman Tom Morrissey, with a ‘shopping spree at Nordstrom’s, for all of her work the past two years.

·        Tidbits from the AZGOP Chairman’s banquet:

ü  Congressman David Schweikert  (CD6) told the banquet attendees, “We have a hell of year coming. We are in their crosshairs.” 
o   Briefs remembers an impressive teenage Schweikert walking into her newspaper office in the early 80s announcing his political plans. Schweikert became a PC at age 18 and has been on an upward move ever since. The following morning at the AZGOP State convention, he mentioned his removal from a high powered congressional committee  saying he has been appointed an “even higher position on the toilet paper committee!”  Hang in there David, a sense of humor always helps!

ü  The HQ staff geared up for 100 guests for the banquet: then suddenly two days prior to the event 80 more reservations came in!

ü  Former AG Bob Corbin was among the crowd.
o    As you may recall, Corbin also served as the National Rifle Association president while he was the AZ AG. Amazingly, Corbin knew the names of every one of his staff when he walked down through the AG halls… often inquiring about spouses and children. This editor has fond memories of working on Corbin’s ADM staff during his last two years in office. An impressive fellow to say the least.  No, I don’t think he has fulfilled his quest to find the Lost Dutchman Mine yet, but he’s probably still looking.

ü  CD4 Congressman Paul Gosar told the banquet group  “… they have the Constitution in their crosshairs. We must unify. We cannot win divided.”
ü  AG Tom Horne Thanked All The Volunteers who make things happen.
ü  Treasurer Doug Ducey thanked the PCs for their efforts in defeating Prop 204, proving “… temporary taxes means temporary in Arizona.”
ü  Martha McSally, the first woman fighter pilot, expressed support for putting women into the combat forces.
ü  Gabby Saucedo, who was seated at the LD13 table, is a delight.
o   She says she knew she was a Republican when she migrated to the US. She makes no bones about calling progressives “socialists.”  Several people urged her to run again for Congress.
·        Outgoing AZGOP Chairman Tom Morrissey’s parting words at the convention were:  “We (Republicans) are the only hope for this country.”
·        Outgoing Chairman Tom Morrissey is scheduled for surgery within a few days.
·        Congratulations To All Of The New Leaders and the award winners.
·        Thank you to outgoing officers for all of the hard work and time spend in behalf of the GOP.
·        Newly Elected Chairman Robert Graham’s Pledge TO THE AZGOP: My Pledge to the Party - I pledge to YOU, members of the Republican Party of the great state of Arizona:
Ø  To passionately defend our Party’s ideals and values.
Ø  To bring cohesion and cooperation for the greater good of the party.
Ø  A professionally managed Party with a strong, respected media presence.
Ø  Contribute to strong Republican victories in elections on all levels across Arizona.
Ø  Establish education and training on GOP issues via a series of web-based tools.
Ø  To become a well-funded, well-organized Party.
Ø  With your input, to design and implement strategies for success.
Ø  Ear-to-the-ground, strong, passionate leadership.
Ø  To respect the grassroots conservatives and Tea Party members who have infused our Party with energy and recommitment to conservative ideals.
Ø  Today, America is at a crossroads, on the cusp of returning to greatness, with potential within our grasp. We stand together as the GOP – the Great Opportunity Party – and I would be honored and humbled to help our state lead the way.
Ø  Together, we can chart a new course and dig our country out of despair. Together, we can bring back the American Dream, together we will win and together, all good things are possible.
·        Tidbits From The AZGO Convention Will Run in Tomorrow’s Republican Briefs.
·        LaFaro urges Republican PCs to attend the Jan 30 Arizona Conservative Educators Forum scheduled at 6:30 pm at the Bass Pro Shop at the 202/Dobson Road. See the MCRC Calendar for details.
·        Maricopa County GOP Executive Director Tom Husband has agreed to remain in his position.
·        Diana Duran will continue as the MCRC office manager at the 99th Ave/Bell MCRC office.
·        MCRC Chairman AJ LaFaro will be announcing his other appointees in the near future.
     Frosty Taylor, Editor

Articles distributed exclusively as newsworthy items. Content has not been endorsed by the Maricopa County Republican Committee.

Paid for by Maricopa County Republican Committee.  Not authorized by any LD candidate of candidate committee.